About Us

Sustainable Severn Sound (SSS) is a regional sustainability program supported by seven area municipalities, including the Towns of Midland and Penetanguishene, and the Townships of Georgian Bay, Severn, Oro-Medonte, Tiny and Tay.
This project also receives in-kind support and Sustainability Committee representation from the North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation / Société d'aide au développement des collectivités Simcoe Nord (NSCFDC), the Severn Sound Environmental Association (SSEA), the Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit (SMDHU) and the County of Simcoe. The SC serves as an advisory committee to SSS by supporting the SSS objectives to:
(1) educate municipalities and their communities on sustainable practices and policies and connect them to resources, tools and funding,
(2) advance the adoption of practices/policies within municipal operations to support climate change action, greenhouse gas mitigation and sustainable communities, and
(3) advocate for sustainable environmental, social and economic practices and policies at the direction of the partner municipalities.