Municipal Action Plans

Municipal Action Plans

Following the Partners for Climate Protection (PCP) program, Sustainable Severn Sound developed action plans for the Towns of Midland and Penetanguishene, and the Townships of Tiny, Tay, Severn and Georgian Bay. These plans have been adopted by Council, and fulfill Milestones 2 and 3 of the PCP program.

What is the Partners for Climate Protection program?

The Partners for Climate Protection (PCP) program, from ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, is a commitment by local governments to take action on climate change by reducing GHG emissions in their communities and municipalities. There are currently over 350 Canadian municipalities involved in the program, 6 of these being local – Midland, Penetanguishene, Severn, Georgian Bay, Tiny and Tay.

As the Associate Member to the PCP program, Sustainable Severn Sound is responsible for guiding each municipality through the 5-Milestone framework.

Milestone 1 – Create a baseline emissions inventory and forecast
Milestone 2 – Set emission reduction targets
Milestone 3 – Develop a local action plan
Milestone 4 – Implement the local action plan
Milestone 5 – Monitor progress and report results

Moving through these 5 milestones saves municipalities money, improves air quality, creates jobs, and improves the health of local communities.

For more information about the PCP program, please visit:

Click on the logos to visit the municipal action plans.